Last year’s New York Marathon winner Kenya’s Mary Keitany romped to a dominating victory at the New York Mini 10K on Saturday finishing with a time of 31:15. Also in New York, Ben True became the first American to win in the Diamond League 5K race at the Adidas Grand Prix at Icahn Stadium.

Keitany led the way from the final third of the run, leaving more than 10,000 competitors behind. Her compatriots Betsy Saina and Edna Kiplagat, and Ethiopian Etaferahu Temesgen finished right behind her. Keitany’s final 5km came in just 15:37, over a minute faster than her closest competitor, and no one else came close to that scorching speed.

Hitting the mile in 5:10 and two miles in 10:09, Keitany became the 12th Kenyan runner to take home the NYM win and got a cool $10,000 for her efforts.

The first American woman to cross the finish line was Brianne Nelson, in sixth place, while Boston Marathon champion Caroline Rotich finished a lowly 11th in this run.

At the Adidas Grand Prix, Ben True overtook a stellar field that included Kenya’s Thomas Longosiwa and Nixon Chepseba, Olympic silver medallist Nick Willis and Eritrea’s Nguse Amlosom to claim the win in 13:29.48.

As Runner’s World reports, the “men’s 5000 looked more like a tempo run than a race”. Longosiwa led at 3000 meters in 8:12.09, but with one lap to go, True and Willis kicked up to a higher gear. True made a pass just before the finish line to take home the win with Willis in second place a nail-biting 30 milliseconds behind. Amlosom finished in third place, beating the Kenyan duo.

The win continues True’s great form this year. He set a National Record at the BAA 5K in April and won the UAE Healthy Kidney 10K by the narrowest of margins.

Ajee’ Wilson and David Rudisha won the women’s and men’s 800m event at the Grand Prix. Rudisha, the reigning Olympic gold medalist and world record holder, extended his winning streak at this Grand Prix to four year. In other events, Olympian Erin Donohue claimed the victory in the women’s 1000, with a winning time of 2:37.42, a personal best.

In other results, Shamier Little won the 400m hurdles with a time of 53.74, while Kendra Harrison, finished second and won the 100m hurdles at the NCAA Championships in Oregon, which concluded on Saturday. Canadian Andre De Grasse won the 100m with a scintillating time of 9.75, assisted by the wind, while he also topped the 200m in 19.58. Jenna Prandini won the women’s 100m in a windy 10.96, while Dezerea Bryant won the 200m with a time of 22.18. Jamaican Omer McLeod won the 110m hurdles in a wind-assisted 13.01.

mobiefit apps

Subscribe to our Fitness Wiki for a new article in your inbox everyday!